lookiroulette.blogg.se

Markdown bullet list
Markdown bullet list









markdown bullet list
  1. MARKDOWN BULLET LIST UPDATE
  2. MARKDOWN BULLET LIST PLUS

It does rule out being able to write a list like: A.īut I feel this is an ok compromise since if I wrote a dramatic sentence like: MarkedJS Extending MarkedĪt first, I tried creating a custom list parser, but since we want all the existing features of lists, just different types, I extended the list output instead. To champion the single-responsibility and open/closed principles, we have tried to make it relatively painless to extend Marked. Extend lists in markdownįor my static blog builder, I'm using MarkedJS. This is a letter list īut at what cost? The cost of writing in HTML, and if that’s a cost you are willing to pay, you can stop here!Īnd what I will say is, if you're only going to need different types of lists in a few specific posts, adding them with HTML is the best way to do it.īut if you need other types of lists regularly, why not add ordered list types to your markdown (instead of writing them in HTML). Because markdown accepts HTML input, you don't have to re-write your whole post in HTML just for one unusual element. The good news is, that the rest of your blog post can still be in markdown. You lose some of the benefits of markdown, e.g you need to add HTML tags manually and your lists aren't so readable. Writing HTML is the most obvious option, but it's not my favourite. Yep, the thing we used markdown to avoid! You can go back to writing boring old HTML. So how can you add different types of lists? In some situations, this limitation could be a dealbreaker. Writing something technical, or want to get fancy with your lists? You can't. 👆 That's not how I wanted this list to look! And that's when you need to use different ordered list types. This isīut there is a shortcoming with lists in markdown. And it’s all pretty clear and easy to read. In markdown, add a few spaces, and like magic, the list is indented. All those inside inside and you soon lose track of your lists. Let's face it, writing indented lists in HTML is a brain ache.

markdown bullet list

You can indent lists too, which is pretty cool. Out of the box, markdown supports two types of lists: Want to add a list to your content? That's no problem with markdown. You can write like you usually would, add a few characters here and there for a header or a list, and convert it to HTML before putting it on a webpage.

MARKDOWN BULLET LIST UPDATE

But who wants to wrap everything in and tags? And even worse, if you add a bunch of CSS classes, and happen to update something, you’ve got a load of posts to go through and update. I'm writing this post in markdown right now.īack in the day, I'd write all my content in HTML. If you're writing text-heavy content for your website, like a blog post, markdown is a great option.

markdown bullet list

In this blog post, I'll add these list types to the popular MarkedJS markdown compiler. Today, UTF-8 is sufficiently universal that using such characters in an update to Markdown would probably work out fine.One thing I always found missing from markdown was different list types, specifically, letter and roman numeral lists. But at the time, character-encoding mismatches were still a daily problem. If Markdown had only been something I’d meant to use myself, or among friends, I would have made use of punctuation characters outside the 7-bit ASCII range, and literal bullets would have been first on the list. The glaring omission in supported characters, of course, is an actual bullet ( Part of the reason Markdown supports all three characters is that I couldn’t decide on just one back in 2003, and I still can’t. The funny thing is, I’m not even sure how I’d answer the poll personally - I use all three, depending on my mood.

MARKDOWN BULLET LIST PLUS

I’m most surprised by how unpopular plus is. They don’t show up in the results above, but eyeballing them, they’re right in line: lots of fans of asterisks and hyphens, crickets chirping for plus. You can only respond to Twitter polls using Twitter’s official clients, and because a lot of my followers have the good taste to use third-party clients like Tweetbot and Twitterrific, I wound up getting a lot of “responses” by way of replies to my tweet. I’ve always been curious which list markers people actually use, so I did a poll on Twitter. I know a lot of Markdown users choose different characters for different levels of hierarchical lists, and that went into the original thinking as well. Why all three? More or less: why not? Better to let people choose the character that feels most natural to them. In Markdown, you can create unordered lists using any of three characters as the “bullets”: asterisk ( *), hyphen ( -), or plus ( +). Unordered Lists in Markdown Wednesday, 26 July 2017











Markdown bullet list